The Unseen

How can art be used to show unseen things and communicate with unseen things?

Entopic Imagery

The type of imagery that can only be seen by the observer.

edvard munch disturbed vision te25

Edvard Munch, from The Injured Eye Series, Oil on Canvas, 1930

Hypnagogic imagery

The hypnagogic state of consciousness is the transitional experience during the onset of sleep. Hypnopompia is the onset of awake.

I commonly experience sleep paralysis and have done for as long as I can remember. I sleep with my eyes open and usually wake up paralysed for a moment, sometimes i experience hallucinations where it seems as though my dreams have escaped my mind.

IMG_6066

Here is a quick sketch of one of my earliest hallucinations. I woke up and could hear whispers. I could see the light shining through the doorway and a snake slithering into my bedroom. This is when I realised I couldn’t move or scream for help.

 

Published by

rachelannesmyth

A nocturnal twenty-something artist

Leave a Reply

