Sounds with sponge

Although i had previously decided to stop using hair in my artwork, i realised that the sounds of hair could cause relaxation in those who haven’t experienced Trichotillomania. To avoid playing with my hair and constantly resisting the urge to pull, I began to experiment with different objects that could replicate the sound of hair brushing and scalp scratching. When running my fingers over a sponge, i think it sounds as though i have intensified the sounds of running my fingers through my hair. The same goes for scratching the sponge that i find is a similar sensation to scratching my scalp and feeling the texture of each strand of hair.

Published by

rachelannesmyth

A nocturnal twenty-something artist

Leave a Reply

